Carrie Underwood, Evanescence, Suzi Quatro top this week’s new album releases

Carrie Underwood

It’s still Women’s History Month, and new releases this week from Carrie Underwood, Evanescence, Suzi Quatro and Sara Watkins, among others, only add to the story…

Album of the Week: After celebrating Christmas with “My Gift,” Carrie Underwood keeps the faith with “My Savior” (Capitol Nashville), the “American Idol” champion’s first-ever set of gospel standards. In addition to staples such as “How Great Thou Art,” “The Old Rugged Cross” and “Amazing Grace,” the album includes a duet with gospel great CeCe Winans on “Great Is They Faithfulness.”

Album Title of the Week:

Did Ya Know?: Neil Young’s latest archival release, “Young Shakespeare” (Warner) — comes from a 1971 solo concert in Stratford, Conn. — contains the earliest known footage of Young in concert as well as pre-release performances of songs from his then- upcoming “Harvest” album.

New & Noteworthy:

Badfinger, “No Matter What — Revisiting the Hits” (Cleopatra);

Evanescence, “The Bitter Truth” (BMG);

Floating Points, Pharoah Sanders and the London Symphony Orchestra, “Promises” (Luaka Bop);

RELATED POST:Carrie Underwood’s ‘Nothing But the Blood of Jesus’ Is Her Birthday Gift to Fans [Listen]

Suzi Quatro, “The Devil In Me” (SPV/Steamhammer);

Scarypoolparty, “Los Angeles” (Hollywood);

Adrian Smith and Richie Kotzen, “Smith/Kotzen” (BMG);

Tune-Yards, “Sketchy” (4AD);

Sara Watkins, “Under the Pepper Tree” (New West)

Also Out:

Adult Books, “Grecian Urn” (Taxi Gauche);

AJR, “OK Orchestra” (S-Curve);

Ziggy Alberts, “In His Own Words” (Commonfolk);

Alex Leach Band, “I’m the Happiest When I’m Moving” (Crossroads)?

Ali Gatie, “The Idea of Her” (Warner);

The Antlers, “Green To Gold” (Transgressive/Anti-Epitaph);

As Everything Unfolds, “Within Each Lies the Other” (Long Branch);

The Armadillo Paradox, “Out of Gas in Oil Country” (self-released);

Aziola Cry, “The Iconic Divide” (Sensory);

Beams, “Ego Death” (Be My Sibling);

Benny the Butcher, “The Plugs I Met 2” (Griselda/Empire);

Black Spiders, “Black Spiders” (Dark Riders);

RELATED POST:CeCe Winans & Carrie Underwood With An Amazing Performance At The ACM!

Budderside, “Spiritual Violence” (Motorhead Music/Silver Lining);

Caleborate, “Light Hit My Skin” (TBKTR/AWAL);

Cavetown, “Sleepyhead (Extras)” (Sire);

Citizen, “Life in Your Glass World” (Run For Cover);

Clark, “Playground in a Lake” (Deutsche Grammophon);

Cosmograf, “Rattrapante” (Gravity Dream Music);

Natalie D-Napoleon, “You Wanted to Be the Shore but Instead You Were the Sea” (self-released);

Death From Above 1979, “Is 4 Lovers” (Spinefarm);

Brigitte DeMeyer, “Seeker” (Proper/BDM);

DDG X OG Parker, “Die 4 Respect” (Epic);

Kris Delmhorst, “Light Breaks Through” (Bandcamp);

District 97, “Screenplay” (Cherry Red);

Dog Trainer, “Scrolling to feel better…part one” (self-released);

Mike Doughty, “Ghosts of Vroom” (Mod y Vi);

El Michels Affair, “Yeti Season” (Big Crown);

First Aid Kit, “Who By Fire: Live Tribute to Leonard Cohen” (Columbia);

Fitz, “Head Up High” (Elektra);

Nick Fletcher, “Cycles of Behaviour” (self-released);

Damon Fowler, “Alafia Moon” (Landslide);

El Michels Affair, “Yeti Season” (Big Crown);

Freestylers, “Other Worlds” (Mama’s Pie);

Fretland, “Could Have Loved You” (Soundly Music);

Genghis Tron, “Dream Weapon” (Relapse);

Greenleaf, “Echoes From a Mass” (Napalm);

Luke Haines, “Luke Haines In…Setting the Dogs on the Post Punk Postman” (Cherry Red);

Ben Howard, “Collections From the Whiteout” (Island);

The Imaginaries, “The Imaginaries” (ONErpm);

Imminence, “Live in S:t Nicolai (Sweden)” (Arising Empire);

IU, “Lilac” (self-released);

The Juliana Theory, “A Dream Away” (Equal Vision);

Kanga, “You and I will Never Die” (Artoffact);

Daniel Lanois, “Heavy Sun” (eOne);

SG Lewis, “times” (Casablanca/Republic);

L’Imperatrice, “Tako Tsubo” (Gold Atlas);

Liquid Tension Experiment, “LTE3” (InsideOutMusic);

Tate McRae, “too young to be sad” (RCA);

Adam Melchor, “Melchor Lullaby Hotline, Vol. 1 (R&R/Warner);

Memoriam, “To The End” (Reaper Entertainment);

Jason Charles Miller, “From the Wreckage — Part One”

The Mobile Homes, “Trigger”

MyKey, “Welcome to the Witching Hour” (Warner);

Emma Negrete, “Algorithms” (Business);

New Moon Jelly Roll Freedom Rockers, “Vol. 2” (Stony Plain);

Nogo Erez, “Kids” (City Slang);

David Olney and Anana Kaye, “Whisper and Sighs” (Schoolkids);

Sylvan Paul, “America” (Wolf + Lamb);

George Porter Jr. & the Runnin’ Pardners, “Crying For Hope” (Controlled Substance Sound Labs/Color Red);

Joey Porter, “Waterways” (Rare Rock);

Real Estate, “Half a Human” (Domino);

Esther Rose, “How Many Times” (Father/Daughter);

serpentwithfeet, “DEACON” (Secretly Canadian);

Chevel Shepherd, “Everybody’s Got a Story” (Country Sweetheart);

‘68, “Give One Take One” (Cooking Vinyl);

Dr. Lonnie Smith, “Breathe” (Blue Note);

Sam Smith, “Love Goes: Live at Abbey Road Studios” (Capitol);

John Smith, “The Fray” (Commoner/Thirty Tigers);

Stepson, “Help Me, Help You” (SharpTone);

Julia Stone, “Sixty Summers” (BMG);

String Noise, “Alien Stories” (Infrequent Seams);

Sunny War, “Simple Syrup” (Hen House Studios);

Sweet, “Isolation Boulevard” (Prudential);

Jack Symes, “Tompkins Park”

Tomahawk, “Tonic Immobility” (Ipecac);

Tower of Power, “50 Years of Funk & Soul: Live at the Fox Theater, Oakland, CA, June 2018” (Artistry/Mack Avenue);

Various Artists, “New Moon Jelly Roll Freedom Rockers Vol. 2” (Stony Plain);

Sunny War, “Simple Syrup” (self-released);

Rod Wave, “SoulFly” (Alamo/Geffen);

Donovan Woods, “Without People Deluxe” (Meant Well);

Xiu Xiu, “Oh No” (Polyvinyl)

Scott Pilgrim vs. The World soundtrack and score

Young Dolph and Key Block, “Dum & Dummer II” (Empire)


Allman Brothers Band, “Down in Texas ’71” (Allman Brothers Band Recording Co.);

Jon Anderson, “Olias of Sunhillow: Remastered and Expanded Edition” (Esoteric);

Bren Joy, “Twenties (Deluxe Edition)” (Warner)

Cavetown, “Sleepyhead (Extras)” (Sire);

Flesh & Blood, “Blues For Daze” (DEKO Entertainment);

For King & Country, “Burn the Ships (Deluxe Edition: Remixes & Collaborations)” (Curb/Word);

Global Village Trucking Company, “Smiling Revolution” (Esoteric/Cherry Red);

Harpers Bizarre, “Come to the Sunshine: The Complete Warner Brothers Recordings” (El/Cherry Red);

The Jacksons, “The Jackson Live!” (Epic/Legacy);

Lamb Of God, “Lamb of God: Deluxe Edition” (Epic);

Level 42, “The Complete Polydor Years Volume 1 1980-1984” (Robinsongs/Cherry Red);

L7, “Wargasm: The Slash Years 1992-1997” (HNE/Cherry Red);

Teena Marie, “John Morales Presents Teena Marie” (BBE);

Residents, Freak Show (3CD reissue)

Shura, “Forevher (Deluxe Edition)” (Secretly Canadian);

Nancy Sinatra, “Start Walkin” 1965-1976″ (Boots Enterprises/Light in the Attic);

Joe Strummer, “Assembly” (Dark Horse);

Tame Impala, “InnerSpeaker: 10th Anniversary Deluxe Edition” (Modular Recordings/Interscope);

3 Doors Down, “The Better Life (20th Anniversary Edition)” (Republic/UMe);

Various Artists, “Directions in Music 1969 to 1973” (Ace);

Various Artists, “Everybody Makes a Mistake: Stax Southern Soul Volume 2” (Kent/Ace);

Various Artists, “Jon Savage’s 1972-1976: All Our Times Have Come” (Ace);

Donovan Woods, “Without People Deluxe” (Meant Well);

Neil Young, “Young Shakespeare” (Reprise);


“Scott Pilgrim vs. The World” (ABKCO)


Visit our website to read more of our featured gospel articles.
Also, follow our Facebook Group and Twitter for more updates.
You may also leave your comments below for the country artists, legends, and songs you would like us to feature.